Configure task access

What are Tasks?

Tasks are a set of activities to be performed in a release. A set of tasks combine to form a Phase.

Types

Task types can be assigned to all the users or assigned to specific roles. The types are as follows:

  • Human tasks: An individual performs an action and indicates when it is completed.

    • Manual tasks
    • Gates
    • User Input
  • Automated tasks: The Release execution engine performs an automated script.

    • Deploy tasks
    • Script tasks
    • Webhooks
    • Notification tasks
  • Container tasks: Tasks that contain subtasks. For example, the parallel group.
  • Custom tasks: You can also create a custom task type.

For more information, see Task types.

Important: The Task access page in Users and permissions settings is visible only to users with Admin or Edit Security global permissions.

Task access page

Select Settings > Users and permissions > Task access to view the Task access page. By default, the Users page is displayed.

Taskaccess

Assign task types to all users

  1. In the Task access page, you can view the task type in the Task type column.
  2. To assign a specific task type to all the users, identify the relevant task type and select the Available for all users checkbox next to it.

Unassign task types from all users

  1. In the Task access page, you can view the task type in the Task type column.
  2. Identify the relevant task type, which has the Available for all users checkbox selected. To unassign a specific task type from all the users, clear the checkbox.
  3. Click Save.
  4. Click Reset to discard your changes and reload the current settings from the server.

Assign task types to roles

  1. In the Task access page, you can view the task type in the Task type column.
  2. To assign a specific task type to a role, enter a search text (alphabets or numbers matching the name of the role) in the Available to roles column to auto-populate the list of roles created.
  3. Select the relevant role from the list or press Enter. Multiple roles can be assigned to a task type.
  4. Click Save to apply your changes.
  5. Click Reset to discard your changes and reload the current settings from the server.

Similarly to unassign the role from a task type, you can click the Close icon next to the Role name and click Save.

Note:

  • Either the task type should be Available for all users or Available for roles. Both cannot be applicable at the same time.
  • If you clear the Available for all users checkbox and you do not add any roles, the task type will be available only to those who have the Admin permission.