Set blackout period

Release allows you to set a start date and end date to ensure that specific tasks cannot be performed during the set blackout period. To create, edit, or delete a blackout period, you must have the Admin or Edit Blackout Period global permissions.

To create a new blackout period

  1. In the left navigation bar, from the Overview section, select Release calendar. The Release calendar view is displayed.
  2. Hover on the day in the calendar you want to blackout.
  3. Click the three dot Edit calendar day > Set blackout period. The Blackout period dialog appears.

    image

  4. In the Label field, specify a name for the blackout period.
  5. In the Start date field, select a start date and time for the blackout period.
  6. In the End date field,, select an end date and time for the blackout period.
  7. Click Save.

You can see all the blackout periods in the calendar view. On the calendar, the blackout period appears as a black marked area.

image

Tasks in blackout period

All the tasks can be prevented from starting during a blackout period. You can do this by postponing each task until blackout period is over.

Note If a task is already running, it cannot be postponed.

To postpone a task:

  1. Go to the release flow editor and click the task.
  2. Under Scheduled start date, click the Postpone during blackout period checkbox.

image

The task scheduled start date is reset to 1 minute after the set end date of the blackout period.

If a task is postponed during blackout period, you can manually override the setting and start the task immediately.

Note To enable, disable, or override the Postpone during blackout period setting on a task, you must have the Admin global permissions or the Edit Task Blackout release permissions.

Edit blackout period

image

  1. To edit a blackout period, select it in the calendar view, and then click Edit. The Blackout period dialog appears.

    image

  2. Edit the required properties.
  3. Click Save.

Delete blackout period

image

  1. To delete a blackout period, select it in the calendar view, and then click Delete. The Delete Blackout dialog appears.

image

  1. Click Delete.

If a task is set to Postpone during blackout period and you delete the blackout period, the task retains the current scheduled start date.