Stop, abort, or cancel a deployment

Stop a running deployment

To gracefully stop a running deployment, click Stop on the deployment plan. XL Deploy waits until the step that is currently executing is finished, then stops the deployment.

After you stop a deployment, you can:

  • Click Continue to continue the deployment from the next step.

  • Click Rollback to roll back the steps that XL Deploy has already executed.

    If you click Rollback, you can perform one of three actions:

    1. Select Rollback to open the rollback execution window and start executing the plan.
    2. Select Modify plan if you want to make changes to the rollback plan. Click Rollback when you want to start the executing the plan.
    3. Select Schedule to open the rollback schedule window. Select the date and time that you want to execute the rollback task. Specify the time using your local timezone. Click Schedule.
  • Click Cancel to cancel the deployment.

For more information about canceling a deployment, see Cancel a partially completed deployment.

Abort a running deployment

If you cannot gracefully stop a running deployment, you can forcefully abort it. To abort a deployment, click Abort on the deployment plan. XL Deploy attempts to abort the step it is currently executing. After the step is aborted, it is marked as FAILED.

After you abort a deployment, you can:

  • Click Continue to continue the deployment from the aborted step.

  • Select Skip to skip the aborted step and then click Continue to continue the deployment from the next step.

  • Click Rollback to roll back the steps that XL Deploy has already executed.

    If you click Rollback, you can perform one of three actions:

    1. Select Rollback to open the rollback execution window and start executing the plan.
    2. Select Modify plan if you want to make changes to the rollback plan. Click Rollback when you want to start the executing the plan.
    3. Select Schedule to open the rollback schedule window. Select the date and time that you want to execute the rollback task. Specify the time using your local timezone. Click Schedule.
  • Click Cancel to cancel the deployment

Cancel a partially completed deployment

If you stop or abort a deployment, or if a deployment fails, you can click Cancel to cancel it. Your application will be partially deployed. In XL Deploy, you will see the application deployed in the environment, but the application may not work as expected.

Instead of canceling a deployment, the recommended actions are:

  • Click Rollback and execute the rollback plan.

    You can perform one of three actions:

    1. Select Rollback to open the rollback execution window and start executing the plan.
    2. Select Modify plan if you want to make changes to the rollback plan. Click Rollback when you want to start the executing the plan.
    3. Select Schedule to open the rollback schedule window. Select the date and time that you want to execute the rollback task. Specify the time using your local timezone. Click Schedule.
  • Correct the cause of the failed step and click Continue to continue the deployment. Click the failed step to see information about it.