Set blackout period

Release allows you to set a start date and an end date to ensure that specific tasks cannot be performed during the set blackout period. To create, edit, or delete a blackout period, you must have the Admin or Edit Blackout Period global permissions.

To create a new blackout period:

  1. Select Releases > Calendar from the top bar.
  2. Click Edit calendar day in any day on the calendar.
  3. Select Set blackout period.
  4. In the Label box, specify a name for the blackout period.
  5. Select a start date and time for the blackout period.
  6. Select an end date and time for the blackout period.
  7. Click Save.

You can see all the blackout periods in the calendar view. On the calendar, the blackout period appears as a red hashed area.

image

Tasks in blackout period

All the tasks can be prevented from starting during a blackout period. You can do this by postponing each task until after the blackout period.

Note If a task is already running, it cannot be postponed.

To postpone a task:

  1. Go to the release flow editor and click the task.
  2. Under Scheduled start date, click the Postpone during blackout period checkbox.

image

The task scheduled start date is reset to 1 minute after the set end date of the blackout period.

If a task is postponed during blackout period, you can manually override the setting and start the task immediately.

Note To enable, disable, or override the Postpone during blackout period setting on a task, you must have the Admin global permissions or the Edit Task Blackout release permissions.

Edit or delete blackout period

To edit or delete a blackout period, select it in the calendar view, and then click Edit or Delete.

If a task is set to Postpone during blackout period and you delete de blackout period, the task retains the current scheduled start date.