In XL Release, the phases in a template or release represent blocks of work that happen in succession. To add a phase to a template or release, use the release flow editor; it shows the phases and tasks in the release and allows you to add, move, edit, and delete them.

To add a phase:

  1. In the template or release, select Release Flow from the Show menu.
  2. Click Add Phase. A new phase with title ‘New Phase’ appears.

    New Phase

  3. Click the phase title to change it.
  4. Optionally move the phase by dragging it to the desired position.

    Tip: You can expand or collapse a phase by clicking the arrow in the header.

  5. Optionally select a different color for the phase.
  6. Click Phase details icon to view a description of the phase and its start date, due date, and duration.

    XL Release uses the dates and duration when displaying the phase in the planner and calendar; if they are not consistent with the release dates (as defined in the release properties), a warning appears.

    Phase details popup

Copy a phase

To copy a phase, click Duplicate icon. This is useful during modeling when you have similar or identical phases. When you duplicate a phase that is active and has running and completed tasks, the tasks in the new phase are all in the planned state.

Delete a phase

To delete a phase, click Delete icon. Note that you cannot delete a completed or active phase of a running release.